Found Published 2008Buy the Book


The Missing Series, Book #1

  • A Junior Library Guild premier selection, 2008
  • Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year Selection Title
  • Buckeye Children's Book Award (OH)
  • Choose to Read Ohio Booklist Selection
  • IRA Young Adults' Choices
  • Isinglass Teen Read List Selection
  • Louisiana Young Readers' Choice Award
  • Massachusetts Children's Book Award
  • Nene Award (HI)
  • Pacific Northwest Young Reader's Choice Award
  • Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award
  • Sasquatch Reading Award (WA)
  • Sunshine State Young Reader's Award (FL)
  • Texas Lone Star Reading List
  • Volunteer State Book Award (TN)

Thirteen-year-old Jonah has always known that he was adopted, and he’s never thought it was any big deal. Then he and a new friend, Chip, who’s also adopted, begin receiving mysterious letters. The first one says, “You are one of the missing.” The second one says, “Beware! They’re coming back to get you.”

Jonah, Chip, and Jonah’s sister, Katherine, are plunged into a mystery that involves the FBI, a vast smuggling operation, an airplane that appeared out of nowhere — and people who seem to appear and disappear at will. The kids discover they are caught in a battle between two opposing forces that want very different things for Jonah and Chip’s lives.

Do Jonah and Chip have any choice in the matter? And what should they choose when both alternatives are horrifying?

“A tantalizing opener to a new series . . . Readers will be hard-pressed to wait for the next installment.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

FAQs Discussion Guide (PDF)


Also in this series

Rescued (eBook Short) Sought (eBook Short) Redeemed Revealed Risked Caught Torn Sabotaged Sent Found

International Covers


Connect with Margaret:

Facebook Twitter Instagram